NDPA Community Lifesaver Award Winners

NDPA community Award

It is with great joy that the National Drowning Prevention Alliance announces the winners of the 2020 Community Lifesaver Awards in recognition for their work in drowning prevention and water safety on a community level. 

The NDPA Community Lifesaver Award’s purpose is to recognize and honor exceptional work in creating safer water, providing excellent services, and the outstanding difference said contributions have made in drowning prevention.

The recipients of this award are chosen from a pool of candidates nominated to the NDPA and voted on through the NDPA Facebook Page. Having been confirmed by the NDPA Executive Committee and Board of Directors, this year’s winners are:

Chris Carlson & John Moore, Ben Carlson Foundation

The influence and outreach of this organization is incredibly powerful in the local community and with drowning prevention advocates in Southern California. In addition to funding awards for students, the Foundation sponsors meaningful engagement between water safety advocates and the public through digital media, training sessions and conferences.

Chris Carlson, Melissa Sutton and John Moore
City of north richland hills

City of North Richland Hills

For their dedication to water safety and domino-effect influence in the Dallas / Fort Worth metroplex. The City of NRH, along with city-run facilities, is deeply committed to drowning prevention and has implemented a well coordinated, city-wide program for water safety that is truly unprecedented.

Alexandra (Lexie) Nieri

For her work as a local and regional educator and leader for water safety for students with disabilities and successfully promotes the use of new drowning prevention trends or technologies.

Lexie Nieri
cloudy sky boat water

Mark Lavin Memorial Safety Foundation

For thirty years the Mark Lavin Safety Foundation has been internationally known for its expertise and experience in the prevention and treatment of boating (marine) related injury and illnesses, bio mechanics, Sports Medicine, and Marine Engineering.

Mayor Betsy Price

For her continued leadership in making Fort Worth a Water Safe Community by advancing drowning prevention awareness and education throughout North Texas.

Mayor Betsy Price
Noelle Singleton

Noelle Singleton

For her ability to teach and motivate swimmers of all age groups and abilities. Her organization, Afroswimmers is dedicated to promoting diversity, inclusion, and equity in the sport.

The NDPA would like to thank all this year’s recipients for their continuous support and will be greatly honored to present this award at the awards ceremony to be held on Monday, April 6th during the 2020 National Water Safety Conference in Fort Worth, TX.

United, we can prevent the tragedy of drowning!